top of page

Dubai Metro: 365 day pass


I am always using the metro when I travel around Dubai but I always top up the nol card with cash before I go inside the metro. I was hearing about the monthly or quarterly pass before but I was never keen on looking up about it as I was either using a carlift or walking towards my work before. 

But things have changed. I recently transferred to another company so I have to go by metro. Our place is around 7 minutes walk from the Dubai Internet City Metro Station.

If you've read about my previous blog, you know that I'm in the frugal side. So, I immediately googled on how to save alot in my daily fare. It turns out that the RTA provides discounts for people who use the metro almost everyday. 

When using nol cards, your journey will fall into one of the following tiers, based on the start and finish points: 

Tier 1: Travel within one zone or less than 3km, crossing two zones. 

Tier 2: Starts in one zone and ends in a neighbouring zone. 

Tier 3: Crosses three or more zones. 

*All costs shown are in UAE Dirham (AED). 

*Time allowed between transfers: 30 minutes. 

*Maximum journey duration: 180 minutes. 

*Minimum balance: 7.5AED

*Protect your balance better with a registered or personalized card. 

*Registration fee is 30AED.

Obtaining the Package

The RTA has set a simple process and multiple channels for subscription to various packages of NOL card categories summarized as follows:

• Selecting the type of NOL card to be acquired (Blue, Gold, Silver or Red Ticket)

• Subscribers to Personalized NOL Cards have to select their applicable categories (students, seniors, disabled, ordinary users) in order to enjoy the discounts set for each category.

• Once the type of card is selected, the user has to select the type of subscription (weekly, monthly, quarterly, annually)

• The customer will then select the travel zone needed (level 1, level 2, level 3)

• Once all details were completed and the subscription amount is paid, the operator will then process the subscription of the card.

• The operator will activate the subscription within 5 days from the date of purchase, or else, the card will be activated automatically after 5 days.

• Afterwards the customer can use the card in traveling aboard the Dubai Metro, Dubai Tram and public buses 

I hope this information is useful for the newbies in Dubai. Please don't forget to leave a comment below. 

Godbless to everyone! Have a great day. 😊

119 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page