top of page

DIY Outdoor Wedding-Expectation vs Reality


Going for the DIY route was never easy but I must say that we're all proud to say that we did the wedding and reception ourselves with the help of our beloved family. But sadly, due to financial and time constraints, some of our ideas were not made. Shown below are different things that we incorporated in the outdoor reception and some cool ideas that were not done unfortunately.

The Master Plan

As you can see from all the scribbles, the rectangular object in the center is our house and the 8 rectangular ones represent the tables for the guests. And the rest were all the additional things we want to incorporate to our outdoor reception.

The Entrance

At first, I have this perfect plan of having an arch at the entrance of the reception with welcome signs at both corners. Then when you go inside, there will be a post at the left side with directions, umbrella favors at both sides and Thank You note at the left side.

Entrance Arch - Expectation

These were the types of arch that will suit our theme. We would prefer to use less florals as possible or an arch full of baby's breath (gypsophila). But a month or two before the wedding, I was convinced by my mom not to incorporate baby's breath as it will be time consuming and it would be difficult to handle it few days before the wedding. The other types of arch would be another work load for the carpenters and we have to decorate it also so it was a "No". No arch for the entrance in the reception.

The welcome sign - Expectation

A simple white calligraphy in a wooden board would be a nice touch to welcome the guests.

Reality

I am so proud of my sister (Kaye) and her boyfriend (Jeilo) who made the welcome sign the day before the wedding.

Directions - Expectation

This is in the top priority list for my DIY stuff for the wedding. I want the guests to roam around the reception so a good direction sign would help them to navigate the area.

Reality

With the help of my sister, her boyfriend and our cousins, these signs were finished. It was supposed to be in one post but I had difficulty in setting it up early in the morning during the wedding day. I put all of the signs in the front area but when I came back, my sister relocated all of it which was a good choice.

Thank You Note - Expectation

I really wanted to show you the Thank you note written in glass. That was my very first option but on second thought, writing it in a cloth would be cost effective and not fragile.

Reality

I really like the simplicity of the Thank You Note. This is just a small addition to the reception but its a big thing for us to tell all the guests how thankful we are for their presence.

Kid's Area - Expectation

We really wanted the kids to enjoy the occasion. It would be good for them to have a separate area were they can play and have some fun while the adults are eating or catching up with each other.

Reality

My parents tested out the hammock the night before the wedding.

The small teepee was just made of white linen covering the 3 posts crossing each other.

I purchased two white hammocks from a store of local handcrafted products.

Restroom signs & Relief Kit - Expectation

As you know already that I always wanted our guests to be pampered so the restroom is not an exemption. I found this great tip that some are putting Relief Kit boxes in the washroom for guests to use in between the reception.

Ranging from mouth wash, cotton buds, band aid, lotion, hair pins, you name it. Anything that guests might possibly need during their washroom break during the reception.

Reality

My dad told me that this thing was given to him after the electrical wires were being used. I used this as a side table in the washroom, for me to put the Relief Kit.

These baskets were used to put all the necessary items for the Relief Kit. I bought just some small items, two of each item to put in the two washrooms.

Unplugged Wedding Sign - Expectation

We wanted our guests to be fully present with us during the ceremony so we planned to put this Unplugged Wedding note.

Reality

It was a group effort with my cousins and my sister with Jeilo. I woke up early in the morning to put the signs at the entrance and near the front door of the church. We also made 3 bible verses that were distributed from the church on the way to the reception.

Videobooth - Expectation

Instead of the oh so popular Photobooth, I wanted something new. I discovered that there is a videobooth that you can set up yourself using your own video camera or any gadget that records a video. I'm so excited to hear the well wishes from the guests and especially that its in video form.

Reality

It might be because there are many things to do that I totally forgot to put my ideas into action regarding the videobooth. Somehow I felt some disappointment as I was looking forward to this area in the reception but I can't help it as I know already that all our plans will never be executed perfectly but I know that God's plan for us is PERFECT.

Photobooth - Expectation

Our photobooth idea was actually quite simple. We wanted to put some used frames and hang it on trees and guests can take pictures in that area. We were aiming for all parts of the reception to be picture worthy so we are making sure that every area is good to look at.

Reality

Again, it was because of time. Nang mairo (my husband's eldest sister) already made some photobooth signs for the guests to use but weren't fully finished yet so we decided to discard the idea.

Puzzle - Expectation

I love to make a different twist from the regular things to do in the reception. So the idea is to have a puzzle signed by the guests in order to complete all the pieces.

Reality

It was a good thing that the plan was a success. I ordered the picture puzzle from Bigcity Design located in our town in the Philippines. I just sent them our photo and they made it within few hours.

Wishboard - Expectation

Its either we will put a wine bottle for guests to drop their well wishes for us or for them to write it in a pre-cut butterfly and paste it on the wall.

Reality

Sadly, we were not able to make it. I was doubting which part of the reception I should put it and I think the regular guestbook would be enough.

Photo Display - Expectation

I basically wanted to compile most of our childhood pictures so that our relatives can see us when we're still young. We had a nice open space at the back of our house for us to put some ropes and hang the pictures there.

Reality

Due to the unpredictable weather in the Philippines, I was quite afraid to take the risk in making all the photos wet incase it will rain. And the idea of losing some of the photos in between the preparation and post wedding. So, i decided not to proceed with this nice idea.

Table Names - Expectation

We were planning to put the fruits of the Holy Spirit as table names.

Reality

Nang Mairo already started making these table names but was not able to finish due to the busy schedule and big workload (she did our wedding cake. ☺️). But even then the table would be too bland because we removed the greenery from the final table setup.

It was a nice thing that I did not bother even if all those plans were not met. As long as all our loved ones were gathered and we were both enjoying the event then for me, the reception was considered a successful one. Always remember about the main reason for the occasion, all those material things shouldn't matter. What matters the most is God and his guidance to both of you.

PLEASE DON'T FORGET TO COMMENT BELOW.

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page